You are here

Edward Landin Performance

Edward Landin
Organ Series

Dates & Price

Sunday, January 28, 2018 at 3:00 pm


Free with Gardens Admission

Seating is on a first-come, first-served basis

Edward Landin is currently Assistant Director of Music at Bryn Mawr Presbyterian Church, where his duties include directing numerous children's and handbell choirs and serving as principal accompanist for the 65-member Sanctuary Choir. Edward has previously held positions in New York City (Christ Church, Methodist), Morristown, NJ (St. Peter's Episcopal Church) and in the Mt. Airy neighborhood of Philadelphia (Grace Epiphany Episcopal Church).

More about Edward Landin

Edward Landin began his intensive musical training at the St. Thomas Choir School under the direction of Gerre Hancock. Upon his graduation from St. Thomas, he entered Interlochen Arts Academy where he began his organ studies as a student of Thomas Bara. After high school, he attended the Eastman School of Music for two years; he then transferred to Westminster Choir College where he completed his Bachelor of Music in organ performance as a student of Ken Cowan. While at Westminster, he also studied harpsichord with Kathleen Scheide. Further organ studies and coachings have been with Roberta Gary, David Higgs, Susan Landale, Marie-Louise Langlais, Kimberly Marshall, Paula Pugh Romanaux, Kathleen Scheide, and Carole Terry.

In addition to recitals at The Cathedral Church of St. John the Divine and at St. Thomas Church, both in New York City, and at Old West Church, Boston, he has also performed in Germany, Wales, and on the historic 18th century Andreas Silbermann organ in Strasbourg, France.

A major interest in contemporary organ music, particularly by American composers, led Edward to commission E, Fantasia, and Parodies by Kathleen Scheide; Praeludium and Psalm 139 by Pamela Decker; Prelude on the Carillon d’Alet by Craig Phillips, and Exordium by Carson Cooman. A composer himself, Flourishes and Reflections—Organ Music for Service or Recital was recently released by Lorenz.

More information on his website