Skip to main content
About this Outdoor Garden
Designed to inspire guests, this Garden peaks in late summer/early fall with flowering shrubs and perennials that are nestled in the hillside.
The Hillside Garden Flume, along with the Eye of Water and Waterfall, run from 9:00 am–5:45 pm daily mid-April through mid-October.
The area now called the Hillside Garden was built into a man-made hillside between 1929 and 1932 during the excavation for the Main Fountain Garden. A rocky flume was added in 1932. In 1960 it became a Rock Garden, and in 1963 a Heath and Heather Garden was planted nearby. The Rock Garden was renamed the Hillside Garden in 1982, and it has continued to be developed over the years.