Special Programs for UK Citizens

an adult looks at the camera in the Conservatory while changing out plants

The Royal Horticultural Society/Garden Club of America Interchange Fellowship 

Please note: Due to institutional closures and current restrictions on international travel due to COVID-19, applications for the 2021 Interchange Fellowship year will not be considered at this time; however, it is anticipated that applications will be accepted for the 2022 year.

The Royal Horticultural Society/Garden Club of America Interchange Fellowship is a reciprocal exchange program sponsored by the RHS in the UK and by the GCA in the US, in association with Longwood Gardens.

The program aims to foster British-American relations, promote horticultural studies and the exchange of information in horticulture, and to develop the horticultural and educational leaders of the future. The program is open to British university graduates who received degrees in horticulture, landscape architecture, botany, or environmental studies. To learn more about the program, see the Bursaries section of the Royal Horticultural Society’s website.

Previous Fellows

  • Kathryn Bray 2019
  • Henry McBeath 2019
  • Maggie Tran 2016
  • Charles Ive 2015
  • Ashley Edwards 2014
  • Kasia Goral 2013
  • Alex Summers 2011

Finnis Scott Foundation Scholarship

Longwood Gardens is pleased to partner with the Finnis Scott Foundation of Northamptonshire, UK, for travel support of international interns and trainees from the United Kingdom. Candidates from the UK who have been accepted into either the Longwood Gardens International Internship Program or the International Training Program in Ornamental Horticulture are encouraged to apply for financial assistance from the Finnis Scott Foundation to support their travel to and from the US.

Those candidates who have been accepted to begin their experience at Longwood Gardens in September  should apply for financial assistance from the Finnis Scott Foundation by June 15.

For additional information about the Finnis Scott Foundation and to download the grant application form, visit www.finnis-scott-foundation.org.uk.

Previous Recipients

  • Lawrence Kelly 2015
  • Kirsty Wilson 2015
  • Leon Charalambous 2014
  • James Miller 2011